Indonesia to Form Three More Provinces in Papua, Becomes Five

Arfi Bambani
Mining area of Freeport in Timika, Papua
Mining area of Freeport in Timika, Papua - Deputy Chairman of Commission II of the Indonesian House of Representatives Junimart Girsang said lawmakers and the government will make a Level I decision concerning the three new autonomous regional bills (RUUs) in Papua this Tuesday afternoon. The Working Committee (Panja) 3 of the Bill for the New Autonomous Region of Papua will set up new territorial boundaries of South Papua Province, Central Papua Province, and Papua Mountains Province. These bills will make the island of Papua consists of five provinces, following two existing provinces, Papua and West Papua provinces.

"On Tuesday at 14.00 WIB, the results of the decision will be brought to a Level I decision-making meeting with the Minister of Home Affairs, Minister of Law and Human Rights, Minister of Finance, and Minister of National Development Planning," Girsang said in Jakarta, Tuesday, June 28, 2022.

Girsang explained that the Panja of three bills had received and ratified the results of the Formulating Team (Timus) and the Synchronization Team (Timsin) discussions on the three new provinces in Papua he led.

As a follow-up to the ratification said Girsang, Commission II of the House of Representatives and Government will again hold a meeting that begins with discussions related to candidates for civil servants and government honorary staff in the three new provinces in Papua.

House of Representatives will invite the Ministry of Administrative Reform and Bureaucratic Reform (Kemenpan RB), the State Civil Service Agency (BKN), and the State Administration Agency (LAN) to give input related to the state civil apparatus and honorary staff.

The territory division of the three new provinces in Papua that has been agreed upon is:
1. South Papua Province with the capital city of Merauke consisting of Merauke Regency, Boven Digoel Regency, Mappi Regency, and Asmat Regency, a total of four districts;
2. Central Papua Province with Nabire as the capital city consists of Nabire Regency, Puncak Jaya Regency, Paniai Regency, Mimika Regency, Puncak Regency, Dogiyai Regency, Intan Jaya Regency, and Deiyai Regency, a total of eight regencies; and
3. Papua Mountains Province with the capital city Jayawijaya/Wamena consisting of Jayawijaya Regency, Bintang Mountains Regency, Yahukimo Regency, Tolikara Regency, Central Mamberamo Regency, Yalimo Regency, Lanny Jaya Regency, and Nduga Regency, a total of eight regencies.

Tag # papua # west papua # central papua # papua mountains # south papua # new autonomous region of papua

Latest news

Top Headlines